Skip to content

Board of Directors

See below for short profiles of Ecclesiastical Insurance Office plc Board of Directors.

  • John Hylands, Director  

    John Hylands, FFA* (b) (c) (d), Chairman

    Appointed to the Board in September 2007. Until March 2007 he was an Executive Director of Standard Life plc. He is currently a Director of The Insurance Board of Lloyds Banking Group, Chairman of the trustees of the BOC Pension Schemes, a Governor of the Royal Conservatoire of Scotland and a school governor.
  • Christine Wilson  

    The Very Reverend Christine Wilson* (b), Senior Independent Director

    Appointed to the Board in June 2012 and has served for 15 years in parochial ministry. She was Chaplain to The High Sheriff of East Sussex and was Archdeacon of Chesterfield in the Diocese of Derby until October 2016 when she was installed as Dean of Lincoln. She was a member of the Church of England General Synod 2010- 2015. From December 2013-2016 she was participant observer on the House of Bishops. She has also been chair of a number of charities.

  • Mark Hews, Chief Financial Officer  

    Mark Hews, BSc (Hons), FIA, Group Chief Executive

    Appointed Group Chief Executive in May 2013 and was previously the Group Chief Financial Officer for the Group. Appointed to the Board in June 2009 and appointed to the Board of MAPFRE RE in December 2013. He was formerly a Director of HSBC Life and Chief Executive of M&S Life. Prior to this he was Finance Director at Norwich Union Healthcare. He started his financial career at Deloitte as a consultant and actuary.

  • Jacinta White  

    Mrs. Jacinta Whyte MC Inst. M, ACII (c) Deputy Group Chief Executive

    Appointed Deputy Group Chief Executive and to the Board in July 2013. She is responsible for the Group’s general insurance business globally. Appointed to the Ansvar Australia Board during 2013. She joined Ecclesiastical in 2003 as a General Manager and Chief Agent of the Group’s Canadian business, a role which she continues to hold. Having commenced her career as an Underwriter with Sun Alliance (RSA) in Dublin in 1974, she moved with them to Canada in 1988, holding a number of senior executive positions in both Ireland and Canada.
  • Ian Campbell  

    Ian Campbell, BSc (Econ) Hons, ACA (a), Group Chief Financial Officer

    Appointed to the Board in April 2014. He is a Chartered Accountant with more than 28 years’ experience in the Financial Services sector. His career started at KPMG where he spent 13 years in their Insurance and Consulting Practice covering a wide range of projects for Lloyds, London market and life insurance companies. Since then he has held executive positions at a number of insurance companies. Before joining Ecclesiastical in 2012, he was Group Chief Financial Officer for Torus Insurance where his role included acquisitions, finance, investment and tax management, capital raising, actuarial and reinsurance.
  • Tim Carroll  

    Tim Carroll BA, MBA, FCII* (a) (c) (d)

    Appointed to the Board in March 2013,  he was previously Active Underwriter of Canopius Syndicate 4444 at Lloyd’s, CEO of Swiss Re's UK holding company, CEO Europe of GE Insurance Solutions, President and CEO of GE Reinsurance Inc in the USA. He has held a number of industry positions, including Chairman of the International Underwriting Association and President of the Insurance Institute of London. He holds several Non-Executive Directorships in the insurance industry.

  • Andrew McIntyre  

    Andrew McIntyre

    Appointed to the board in April 2017. Andrew was for 28 years a partner at Ernst & Young, during which time he was a member of the UK board, a trustee of the Ernst & Young pension schemes, and senior partner of the financial services audit practice. He is the Senior Independent Director of C. Hoare & Co and a trustee of the Centre for Economic Policy Research. He chairs the audit committee of Cavamont Holdings Limited and is a member of the Financial Reporting Review Panel of the FRC. Previously, Andrew was for nine years the chairman of Southern Housing Group Limited.
  • Tony Latham, Director  

    Anthony Latham, ACII* (c) (d)

    Appointed to the Board in March 2008. He worked for an international insurance broking group until 1990 and he was a member of the Group Executive of RSA Group plc until December 2007. He is Chairman of Argo Managing Agency Limited and a Director of Codan A/S and Codan Forsikring A/S.

  • Caroline Taylor  

    Ms Caroline Taylor BSc (Hons) Banking and International Finance* (a) (e)

    Appointed to the board in September 2014. She was previously a Director of Goldman Sachs Asset Management International and the Goldman Sachs Luxembourg and Dublin based SICAV Funds, having spent her executive career in financial services principally in asset management. She is currently a Non-Executive Director of Brewin Dolphin Holdings plc.
  • Denise Wilson - Ecclesiastical insurance director  

    Ms Denise Wilson BA (Hons), OBE, FCII* (b) (d) (e)

    Appointed to the Board in December 2010. She is currently CEO of the Hampton-Alexander Review, Chairman of the Friends Board at the Royal Academy of Arts. In a prior Executive capacity, at National Grid until 2011 and previously BG Group and British Gas, she has served in many senior roles including Head of Investor Relations, Global Audit Director, and Commercial and Customer Director, and started her career in insurance with RSA.

  • David Henderson  

    David Henderson FCA* (a) (e)

    Appointed to the Board in April 2016. David began his career specialising in personal tax and UK trusts. He spent 10 years as a banker with Morgan Grenfell and, following that, 11 years in financial services executive recruitment with Russell Reynolds Associates. He joined the Board of Kleinwort Benson Group plc as Personnel Director in 1995. He was appointed Chief Executive of Kleinwort Benson Private Bank Ltd (now Kleinwort Benson) in June 1997. He was Chairman of Kleinwort Benson from 2004 to 2008 and is currently a Senior Advisor to the Bank. He holds several external Non-Executive Directorships. David is a Chartered Accountant and was educated at Eton College.
  • Chris Moulder  

    Chris Moulder FCA, BA, MA

    Appointed to the Board in September 2017. For the last 5 years he has been the Director of General Insurance at the Prudential Regulation Authority, having previously spent 26 years as a partner at KPMG, specialising in Financial Services. He is also a Director of the Insurance Board of Lloyd’s Banking Group.

Ecclesiastical Insurance Group plc (EIG) Reg No 1718196. Ecclesiastical Insurance Office plc (EIO) Reg No 24869. Ecclesiastical Life Ltd (ELL) Reg No 243111. Ecclesiastical Financial Advisory Services Ltd (EFAS) Reg No 2046087. Ecclesiastical Underwriting Management Ltd (EUML) Reg No 2368571. E.I.O. Trustees Ltd Reg No 941199. EdenTree Investment Management Ltd (EIM) Reg No 2519319. All companies are registered in England at Beaufort House, Brunswick Road, Gloucester GL1 1JZ. EIO and ELL are authorised by the Prudential Regulation Authority and regulated by the Financial Conduct Authority and the Prudential Regulation Authority. Firm Reference Number 113848 (EIO) and 110318 (ELL). EFAS and EIM are authorised and regulated by the Financial Conduct Authority. Firm Reference Number 126123 (EFAS) and 527473 (EIM). EUML is an appointed representative of EIO who is authorised by the Prudential Regulation Authority and regulated by the Financial Conduct Authority and the Prudential Regulation Authority. Firm Reference Number 402228.