Ministry Bursary Awards (MBAs)

06 March 2019

Ecclesiastical’s Ministry Bursary Awards for sabbaticals taking place in 2020 are now open for applications until 30 September 2019.

Church doorway

What are the Ecclesiastical Ministry Bursary Awards?

Since being established in 1987, the Ecclesiastical Ministry Bursary Awards have helped hundreds of ministers to finance their extended study leave.

Over 1,000 members of the clergy have now received awards for a wide range of extended leave projects and plans supporting their ministerial development.

Sabbaticals taking place in 2020 are now open for applications until 30 September 2019. Judging of the applications will take place in November 2019 and awards will be made during December 2019.

Entry criteria

Entries for an award must fulfil the following criteria:
  • Awards are open to individual clergy in the Anglican Church in England, Scotland, Wales and Ireland
  • All clergy applying for the awards must be in stipendiary ministry
  • All clergy must have been ordained for at least 10 years and not taken a sabbatical in the previous 7 years of applying
  • Applications are also open to Archdeacons, Bishops, Deans and Assistants1
  • Awards are provided for extended study leave only (fees for a course during the extended study leave may be considered)
  • Entries must be made using the forms provided.

Study leave for clergy is an immensely valuable opportunity to re-energise and re-focus their calling.

The Ministry Bursary Awards from EIG have made a significant contribution to supporting time away from the parish and a major contribution to clergy well-being and their resourcing.

The Venerable Ian Bishop, Archdeacon of Macclesfield

Judging criteria

Judging of the 2020 entries will take place during November and awards will be made in December 2019.
The amount of the individual awards will be judged on the following criteria:
  • Value to the individual applicant
  • Benefit to the wider church
  • Financial support already committed from other sources
  • The strength of the endorsement from a Bishop or Archdeacon supporting your plans.
1Assistants are classified as Assistant Curates, Deacons and Licensed Lay Workers including Church Army Evangelists engaged in the parochial ministry. Source: GS Misc 1148 published by the Archbishops’ Council 2016. 
This section is not regulated by the Financial Conduct Authority or the Prudential Regulation Authority.